CURRENT WACP Officers 2015-2018

  • Sergio J. Villaseñor B. (México)
  • Hans Rohlof (The Netherlands)
    Treasurer/ Board of Directors
  • Wolfgang Jilek(Canada)
  • Masahisa Nishizono (Japan)
  • Joseph Westermeyer (USA)
  • James Boehnlein (USA)
  • Fumitaka Noda (Japan)
  • Mario H. Braakman
  • Micol Ascoli (Italy)
    Associate Editors / Board of Directors
    Associate Editors/Former president
  • Simon Dein (London)
    Associate Editors
  • Geert Smid
    Associate Editors
  • M. Patricia Aceves (Mexico)
    Editorial Assistant/Co opted members
  • John M. De Figuereido (USA)
    Board of Directors
  • Ramón Florenzano (Chile)
    Board of Directors
  • Américo Reyes Ticas (Honduras)
    Board of Directors
  • Riyadh Al-Baldawi (Sweden)
    Board of Directors
  • Vittorio De Luca (Italy)
    Board of Directors
  • Nikolai Bokhan (Russia)
    Board of Directors
  • Tsuyoshi Akiyama (Japan)
    Board of Directors
  • Vasudeo Paralikar (India)
    Board of Directors
  • Jie Li (China)
    Board of Directors
  • Mohamed Fakhr El-Islam (Egypt)
    Board of Directors
  • Solomon Tshimong Rataemane (South Africa)
    Board of Directors
  • Muthoni Mathai (Kenya)
    Board of Directors
  • Hans-Jörg Assion
    Co opted members
  • Alberto Velasco
    Co opted members
  • Daniel Chen
    Co opted members
  • Adriana Romero
    Co opted members
  • Kenneth Fung
    Co opted members
  • Afzal Javed
    Co opted members
  • Albert Persaud
    Co opted members
  • Yves Thoret
    Co opted members
  • Goffredo Bartocci
    Former President


• Culture, Media and Arts (Chair: Erminia Colucci)
• Culture and Psychiatric Diagnosis (Chair: Renato Alarcon)
• Culture, Religion and Spirituality (Chair: Simon Dein)
• Intercultural Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy (Chair: Aida Alayarian)


Associação Brasileira de Psiquiatria Cultural
Chair: Marcos DE NORONHA (Brazil)
Centre Françoise Minkowska
Chair: Marianne MINKOWSKI (France) - Directeur du pôle Enseignement et Recherches: Rachid BENNEGADI (France)
Deutsch-Türkische Gesellschaft für Psychiatrie, Psychotherapie und Psychosoziale Gesundheit
Chair: Meryam SCHOULER-OCAK (Germany)
Ethnic-Cultural Psychiatry Division of Chinese Psychiatric Society & Chinese Medical Association
Chair: Xu-Dong ZHAO (People’s Republic of China)
Grupo Latino Americano de Estudios Transculturales
Chair: Sergio J. VILLASEÑOR-BAYARDO (Mexico)
Interkulturelle Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie, Migration Referat of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Psychiatrie, Psychotherapie und Nervenheilkunde
Chair: Meryam SCHOULER-OCAK (Germany)
International Association of Ethnopsychologists and Ethnopsychotherapists
Chair: Nikolay BOKHAN (Russian Federation)
Istituto Italiano di Igiene Mentale Transculturale
Chair: Goffredo BARTOCCI (Italy)
Japanese Society of Transcultural Psychiatry
Chair: Fumitaka Noda (Japan)
Transcultural Special Interest Group of Italian Society of Psychiatry
Chair: Vittorio INFANTE (Italy)
Society for the Study of Psychiatry and Culture
Chair: Steven WOLIN (USA)
Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute
Chair: Andreas BURCKHARDT (Switzerland)
Transcultural Section of Canadian Psychiatric Association
Chair: Lisa ANDERMAN (Canada)
Transcultural Section of Dutch Psychiatric Association
Chair: Mario BRAAKMAN (Netherlands)
Transcultural Special Interest Group of Royal College of Psychiatrists
Chair: Hellme NAJIM (UK)

  •  I. Herrera y Cairo No. 611. Col. centro
         Guadalajara, Jal., Mex. C.P.44100
  •  (+5233) 36139877


Culture impacts mental illness so that culturally relevant care is needed for patients of diverse ethnic and cultural backgrounds. From a social point of view, there has been rapid social and cultural change, as well as migration within and between nations. Societies are becoming multi-ethnic and poly-cultural in nature worldwide. From a clinical perspective, there is a need to improve cultural competence to provide proper psychiatric care of each patient, considering the ethnic/race/cultural background, irregardless of minority or majority status.

Read More

Follow Us on FB